嘉道理生物科學大樓, 香港大學

香港薄扶林

這坐國際獲獎的大建築樓主要設計用於研究,但具有一定的教學設備,將過去分散的動物學,植物學,生態學和生物多樣性部門和大學分子生物學研究所組合成一個中心。

這個十層高的創新建築,不僅能夠應對現場的地理環境,而且通過對功能,靈活性,安全性,能源效率,可持續性,終身經濟,可維護性,易維護性等問題作出響應, 為全球研究實驗室的設計設定了新的標準。

綜合可持續設計

我們革命性地把應對環境設計融入功能實驗室,使每年減少二氧化碳排放量達36.7噸,並估算此建築可持續運作多於50年。東西立面均採用了雙層幕牆設計,提供自然通風帶走機電設備餘熱,並減低東西立面太陽熱輻射和眩光。平面設計及核心佈局配合機電設備(配置在平台,外牆及天台)使每層實驗室面積效率達到80/20(可用樓面面積/建築面積)比例。大大減少將來需要擴建或改動時所產生的建築廢料及能源浪費。高效率及靈活的實驗室規劃按最新實驗室標準,模組化設計,預製組件,實驗室傢俱以增加工作檯的使用空間。

服務範圍

項目建築師

規模

建築面積:14,000平方米

竣工日期

1999年

客戶

香港大學

獎項

2001 世界建築大獎亞洲區最佳建築設計獎
2000 香港建築師學會優異獎

Kadoorie Biological Sciences Building, The University of Hong Kong

Pokfulam, Hong Kong

The Project

Designed primarily for research but with some teaching capability, this internationally award-winning building brings together the existing but formerly dispersed departments of Zoology, Botany, Ecology and Biodiversity and the University’s Institute of Molecular biology into one centre.

With ten storeys in height, this highly innovative building, not only answers the demanding architectural challenge of the site but, through its response to the issues of functionality, flexibility, safety, energy efficiency, sustainability, lifetime economy, buildability and ease of maintenance, set new standards for the design of research laboratories worldwide.

Sustainable Design Integration

Revolutionary functional laboratory design concepts are integrated into an environmentally responsive building that reduces CO2 production by 36.7 tonnes per annum and which it is estimated will remain fully operable for over 50 years. The east and west façades are in double layer arrangement of glazed screens to produce natural ventilation to take away heat from equipment, reduce potential glare and solar heat gain from the predominantly east and west facing facades. The deep plan, shell and core planning approach allied to a modular building services distribution arrangement with principal plant spaces located externally (podium, external wall, and roof) has facilitated a very efficient 80/20 useable net-to-gross-floor-area ratio on each laboratory floor. This vastly reduced construction waste and energy expenditure in future modifications. Efficient yet flexible laboratory planning based on the latest laboratory space standards and modular, prefabricated, laboratory benching significantly increased the amount of available workstations.

Our Services

Project Architect

Project Size

GFA: 14,000sqm

Date of Completion

1999

Client

The University of Hong Kong

Awards

2001 Winner for the Asian Region on World Architecture Awards
2000 The HKIA Certificate of Merit